Bay Bookies Clean up at National Awards

Four Hawkes Bay Bookkeepers were honoured at this year’s Institute of Certified NZ Bookkeepers (ICNZB) 9th annual conference held in Christchurch over the weekend.  ICNZB is a vibrant and growing organisation committed to leading the way for the bookkeeping industry in New Zealand.  There is a membership base of over 1000 members which indicates the calibre of support from small business owners from across the country. “Our research shows us that small businesses that use Xero and one other tech tool can grow their net profit 30 percent faster than those businesses that don’t. In addition, our research has highlighted that Bookkeepers are among the top most trusted professions, which highlights the importance of not just utilising technology but also working with a trusted advisor to get the most out of your business.” Craig Hudson, Managing Director, Xero Haylee Wrenn from Accountabill based in Taradale was presented the Gayle Buchanan Memorial Trophy which is known as the Bookkeeping Trainer of the Year Award.  Recipients of this trophy must show evidence of educating business owners on the principles of best practice bookkeeping and providing support to grow their businesses.  Gayle Buchanan was one of the founding members of the Bookkeeping Association and passed away from Breast Cancer in 2015, her legacy continues in this award.  Janine Gartner from Tax Agent 99sponsored the award as she was the recipient in 2018 and decided to pay it forward to ensure that standards in the industry remain high. Irene Bennetts from Admin Army (Havelock North) took out the Bookkeeping Practice of the Year Award, this award recognizes the bookkeeping practice who offered the best service to their clients over the last 12 months and is a great member of the business community. It was sponsored by ipayroll, Elaine Kirk, National Sales Manager commented how difficult the decision was due to the high calibre of entrants. Another indicator of the high-calibre of Bookkeepers we have in the Hawke’s Bay was when two of the four finalists for the Xero Excellence Awards announced come from Hawke’s Bay.  Announced at the ICNZB conference by Craig Hudson, Managing Director of Xero, the awards recognise excellence and celebrate the role of Xero partners in helping small businesses thrive in New Zealand.  Diana Ketel and Kelly Thomsen from Bookkeepers NZ (Hastings) and Leaine Jones from Jones Business Solutions (Kereru, rural Hastings) were named as finalists and are now eagerly awaiting the Awards in August to find out who will be crowned the winner. If you would like more information about ICNZB regarding joining as a member, or engaging one of their certified bookkeepers in your business, simply go to their website If you are interested in learning bookkeeping then check out to help you get started.