Regional architecture award win for Toitoi Municipal Building

Toitoi Municipal Building was one of a number of Hastings district winners at this year’s Gisborne & Hawke’s Bay Architecture awards, held at the Assembly Room in Hastings on Friday night (June 14).

Designed by Matthews & Matthews Architects, the Municipal Building won the heritage category of the Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects awards.

The judges noted that the Municipal seismic upgrading and redevelopment project was an exemplary fusion of heritage preservation and seismic resilience.

“Celebrated as one of Hastings’ cherished landmarks, the project brilliantly reintegrates the building into the community fabric by revitalising its original essence while enhancing safety measures.

“Skilfully blending vital enhancements with the restoration of its architectural charm, the design invites natural light and fosters connection within the vibrant urban landscape.

“By reactivating pedestrian spaces and preserving local heritage, the project epitomises the commitment of Hastings District Council and community to their urban heritage.”

Hastings mayor Sandra Hazlehurst said it was a thrill that the Municipal Building had secured an award, joining a line-up of amazing public and privately owned buildings across Hastings and Gisborne.

“We are very proud of what has been achieved with the redevelopment of the entire Toitoi – Hawke’s Bay Arts and Events Centre, including the Municipal Building.

“These structures reflect the activities of our community over the years and our thanks go to Matthew and Matthew Architects for capturing, enhancing and preserving that legacy for generations to come – this award is very well deserved.”

Mrs Hazlehurst also congratulated all the other award winners for their creativity and commitment to creating extraordinary structures and spaces.

“These talented architects are transforming our district – from Maraekākaho to Havelock North – it’s really exciting to see.”


Media Release: Heretaunga Hastings District Council