Winners revealed: Gisborne and Hawke’s Bay Architecture Awards 2024

Nineteen projects were recognised in the 2024 Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects  Gisborne and Hawke’s Bay Awards on 14 June at the Heritage award-winning Toitoi Municipal Building, Hastings.

A world-first building, eight beautiful new homes and two groundbreaking educational facilities were among the 2024 winners.

The Education category included Heretaunga Intermediate School’s technology block, designed by DCA Architects of Transformation, and described by the jury as an “ingenious fusion of functionality and aesthetics. The design considers the environment as an extension of the learning space, facilitating interdisciplinary connections in science, woodworking, music, art, and culinary arts.”

In the same category, Te Whare Te Manukura, a take on a traditional wharenui — with carved maihi by Charles Paringatai and works by master carver Nathan Foote — was awarded. Designed by Atkinson Harwood Architecture, the Rudolph Steiner school building skillfully intertwines Steiner philosophy with the essence of te ao Māori and is described by the jury as “a beacon of cultural enrichment.”

“After everything we’ve been through in this region, it was uplifting to see so many high-quality projects and such positive design and building work happening in the region,” says jury convenor, Hawke’s Bay architect Ann Galloway. “Everywhere we visited we experienced buildings that have been transformed by the way the architects approached the design and location.”

A pint-sized example is the Small Project Architecture winner. The Windsor substation switchboard upgrade by Charissa Snijders pushes the boundaries of what a functional, utilitarian structure can be. It is relocatable, sustainable and has become the first infrastructure project in the world to receive Living Building Challenge Vs 4.0 Petal Certification.

In the housing category, extraordinary settings were met with stunning architectural responses. The winners include homes in rural, coastal and suburban locations, and one multi-unit community of 20 houses, St Aubyn Village Estate.

A jury of four judges — Christina van Bohemen of Sills van Bohemen, Pierre Du Toit of Fat Parrot Architecture and graduate architect Jess Stent — was convened by Galloway.


Read more


First published by Hawke’s Bay Today. Click here to read the full article.


Related Article:

Stuff – Eight houses in the limelight in Gisborne-Hawke’s Bay awards