Connectivity wins the 2023 Fieldays No.8 Wire National Art Award

Artist Ricks Terstappen from Hawke’s Bay has won the top prize in this year’s Fieldays No.8 Wire National Art Award for his artwork “Connectivity” in the awards ceremony held last night at ArtsPost Galleries & Shop in Hamilton Kirikiriroa.

The above image is of judge and sculptor Hannah Kidd with the winning entry by artist Ricks Terstappen.

“This work is a powerful metaphor for rural communities” says 2023 guest judge, sculptor Hannah Kidd. “Neighbours can be quite some physical distance apart but connected in ways that support each other. Therefore, it’s these connection points that give the structure its dynamic strength.”

Reflecting on her experience as this year’s judge, Kidd said “It was amazing to see these sculptures in person in the gallery, and each of the artworks spoke to me. It was a hard decision to choose just three winners from the finalists. Congratulations to you all.”

This annual competition, hosted by Waikato Museum and supported by the New Zealand National Fieldays Society (NZNFS) now in its 26th year sees artists challenged to transform the iconic Kiwi farming product, No.8 wire, into art and compete for a share of nearly $10,000 in prizes.

Since its inception in 1997, this annual open call for artists and creatives from across Aotearoa has provided a platform for reinventing an everyday farming product into art. The Awards also play a crucial role in fostering a stronger connection between urban and rural communities.

The 2023 Fieldays No.8 Wire National Art Award finalists are:

  • Dagmar Elliott, Te Awamutu
  • Teuila Fatupaito, Hamilton
  • Helen Fuller, Waiheke Island
  • Tony Gray, Morrinsville
  • Jevon Howe, Pukekohe
  • Asaki Kajima, Hawke’s Bay
  • John McKenzie, Te Aroha
  • Jane Mortimer and Dave Sole, Hamilton
  • Heather Olesen, Morrinsville
  • Susan Rhodes, Hamilton
  • Ricks Terstappen, Hawke’s Bay (two works)
  • Tira, Kaikohe
  • Jeff Thomson and Bev Goodwin, Helensville
  • Dinah and Mark Walker, Auckland
  • Yasmin Yussof, Canterbury
  • Waikato Creative Stitchers: Josina Ellis, Liz Wilson, Sue Truman, Barbara Rosenberg, Sue Lynch, Marianne Lock, Katherine Fell


Read more


First published by SCOOP. Click here to read the full article.