Central Hawke's Bay

Central Hawke’s Bay District is part of the Hawke’s Bay Region and covers an area of 333,450 hectares with a population of 15,600.

On the back of unprecedented growth not seen in the District since the 1960’s, and now with a plan to address its long-term underinvestment in infrastructure and a clear and cohesive vision and blueprint for the future to respond to growth – Central Hawke’s Bay is Thriving!

About Central Hawke’s Bay

There are two main towns in Central Hawke’s Bay – Waipukurau and Waipawa – with a number of smaller townships including Otane, Takapau, Tikokino, Porangahau and Ongaonga; as well as several beach townships including Kairakau, Pourerere, Aramoana, Blackhead and Te Paerahi.

State Highway 2 runs through the centre of Central Hawke’s Bay leading south to Palmerston North and the Wairarapa and north to Hastings and Napier.  The nearest north and south cities to Waipukurau are Hastings, 50 kilometres, and Palmerston North, 108 kilometres.  It is 70 kilometres to Napier Port and 75 kilometres to Napier Airport.

State Highway 50 runs along the foot of the hills offering an alternative thoroughfare south. Along this highway is where you can easily access outlying townships such as Tikokino and Ongaonga.

The railway runs through Central Hawke’s Bay with one station at Waipukurau.  This is the main line running from Wellington, via Palmerston North, to Napier.

Central Hawke’s Bay Homes for Business.

Looking for a Home for Business in Central Hawke’s Bay?