Top Agribusiness Talents Shine – Zanda McDonald Award Shortlist Unveiled

Australasia’s agricultural badge of honour, The Zanda McDonald Award, has revealed their shortlist of ten young professionals from Australia and New Zealand for the 2024 Award.

The coveted award recognises future leaders working in agriculture and provides an impressive prize package centred around tailored mentoring and education. Next year marks the awards’ 10th anniversary of inspiring and nurturing agricultural leadership. The shortlist of ten – five from Australia and five from New Zealand – have been selected for their leadership skills, passion, and the contribution they’re making within the primary sector.

The New Zealand finalists are Carla Muller, 31, Agricultural Economist and Principal Consultant for Perrin Ag and former Director of NZIPIM, based in Whakatane; Jordi Hoult, 29, vet and Senior Advisor at the Ministry for Primary Industries, based in Manawatu; Nancy Crawshaw, 27, Extension Officer for Angus Australia based in Nuhaka Northern Hawkes Bay; Richard Dawkins, 34, sheep and beef farmer and Vice President of Marlborough Federated Farmers, based in Blenheim; and Tim Dangen, 31, beef farmer in Muriwai West Auckland, and 2022 recipient of the FMG Young Farmer of the Year Award.

Shane McManaway, award Chairman, says the judges were elated with the calibre of the latest crop of applicants, as they approach the awards’ 10-year anniversary.

“It’s wonderful that this award has been helping grow future leaders in agriculture for a decade now, providing unique opportunities to connect, collaborate and foster learnings from industry mentors who have walked the path.


Read more


First published by SCOOP. Click here to read the full article.